Assessment 1: what is social networking?

For me social networking is the ability to share information of any nature and in a variety of formats with people all over the world virtually immediately. It allows me to browse and post material.

I use: Facebook for personal, work and study purposes; Google Reader for feeds from blogs related to personal interests, study and work, Delicious (for study), a little Twitter out of curiosity; Flickr (personal and work); Learning Management Systems (Blackboard at RMIT and LMS and Sakai at the University of Melbourne) for work; YouTube for everything including information literacy sessions.

I want to be convinced that social networking is worthwhile and is not just a case of the tail wagging the library dog. I currently work with medical librarians who do not appear to avail themselves of this technology. When I attended a day conference last year I sat next to a librarian from another University who Twittered all day, which I found both intriguing and amusing. I can see the benefits but I want my horizons broadened and see how such technologies could be applied more effectively in a library setting. I also want to debunk the myth that anybody over the age of 40 sees such technology as the work of the Devil.

This entry was posted in Academic Library, social media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

