Module 4: making Web 2.0 work for your organisation

Brookover, S. (2007). Why we blog, Library Journal, 15 November. Retrieved from http://www.libraryjournal.com/article/CA6497263.html

I’m a big fan of blogs but you have to be clear before you create a blog about why you want to blog, who it is aimed at, what content is to be included, who will post on the blog and ensure a quality of content.

A Grad. Dip. assignment I undertook was devoted to monitoring two academic library blogs over the duration of a semester. I found that a blog with regular posts and relevant content proved an effective communication tool and this could be measured in terms of number of comments a post would receive.

Casey, M. & Stephens, M. (2009). You can’t afford not to do these things, Library Journal, 15 March. Retrieved from http://www.libraryjournal.com/article/CA6639942.html?industryid=47356

Never stop learning. Very prescient. I think it’s down to the individual to keep up with developments in the profession. Some libraries are better than others at offering their staff opportunities to do this. I’ve kept a foot in the social media camp mainly through a friend (who is not a librarian) but is interested in such things. Through this course I’ve built on this but my current employer seems to lack any real direction with regard to social media.

Andy Burkhardt’s post Four Reasons Libraries Should be on Social Media  (August 25, 2009).

I work in a social media-free library: a double-edged situation, both frustrating and opportunistic. All the librarians I work with have been in the profession much longer than me (a little over three years). None of them use social media. There are no subject blogs and the Libguides produced don’t use social media.

I have already had a conversation with one of my colleagues who views social media as a wholly pointless exercise. I think I managed to shed some light on the benefit of Twitter. Made him think a bit more anyway. But then I read this little article and found it made some very useful concise points and I shall fall back on them as I try to raise the profile of social media.

Especially interesting was the claim that email was dead. One of the challenges we face in our library is trying to communicate with academics and researchers. One of the statistics banded about is that an academic receives on average 150 emails a day. I can’t back this up with a reference but if it is the case then we have to look at other means of communication and social media may well be the key.

This entry was posted in Academic Library, Blogs, Library 2.0, Module 4, Web 2.0 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

